School of Medicine Leadership

Dean

Anantha Shekhar, MD, PhD
Senior Vice Chancellor for the Health Sciences
John and Gertrude Petersen Dean, School of Medicine
samscahill@pitt.edu
412-648-8975
 

Vice Dean

Ann E. Thompson, MD, MCCM
Vice Dean, School of Medicine
jareed@pitt.edu
412-648-9000

Associate Deans

Barbara E. Barnes, MD, MS
Associate Dean for Continuing Medical Education
barnesbe@upmc.edu
412-647-8122

Gregory M. Bump, MD
Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education
bumpgm@upmc.edu
412-692-4888

Donald B. DeFranco, PhD
Associate Dean for Medical Student Research
dod1@pitt.edu
412-624-4295

Alda Maria Gonzaga, MD, MS
Associate Dean for Student Affairs
gonzagaa@upmc.edu
412-648-9850

John P. Horn, PhD
Associate Dean for Graduate Studies
jph@pitt.edu
412-648-9429

Saleem Khan, PhD
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
khan@pitt.edu
412-648-3911

Joseph E. Losee, MD
Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs
Jennifer.Szczepaniak@chp.edu
412-648-9060

Chenits Pettigrew Jr., EdD
Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
cpettigrew@medschool.pitt.edu
412-648-8987

Beth M. Piraino, MD
Associate Dean for Admissions and Financial Aid
Piraino@pitt.edu
412-648-9891

Evelyn C. Reis, MD
Associate Dean for the Learning Environment
reise@pitt.edu
412-648-2884

Jason Rosenstock, MD
Associate Dean for Medical Education
rosenstockjb@upmc.edu 
412-648-8714

Yoel Sadovsky, MD
Associate Dean for Women’s Health Research and Reproductive Sciences
ysadovsky@mwri.magee.edu
412-641-2675

Richard A. Steinman, MD, PhD
Associate Dean for the Medical Scientist Training Program
steinman@pitt.edu
412-648-3238

Peter J. Veldkamp, MD, MS
Associate Dean for Global Health Education
veldkampp@dom.pitt.edu
412-383-1675

Ora A. Weisz, PhD
Associate Dean for Faculty Development
weisz@pitt.edu
412-383-8891

Darlene F. Zellers, PhD
Associate Dean for Postdoctoral Affairs
zellersd@pitt.edu
412-648-8522

Assistant Deans

Raquel Buranosky, MD, MPH
Assistant Dean for Clinical Education
buranoskyr@upmc.edu
412-648-4542

Judy C. Chang, MD, MPH
Assistant Dean for Medical Student Research
chanjc@upmc.edu
412-641-1440

Brad Dicianno, MD, MS
Assistant Dean for Medical Student Research
dicianno@pitt.edu
412-648-6138

JoAnne L. Flynn, PhD
Assistant Dean for the Medical Scientist Training Program
joanne@pitt.edu
412-624-7743

John Fowler Jr., MD
Assistant Dean for Medical Student Research
fowlerjr@upmc.edu
412-605-3245

Janel Hanmer, MD, PhD
Assistant Dean for Medical Student Research
hanmerjz@upmc.edu
412-586-9850

Rebecca P. Hughey, PhD
Assistant Dean for Medical Student Research
hugheyr@pitt.edu
412-383-8949

Frank J. Kroboth, MD
Assistant Dean for Graduate Medical Education
frk@pitt.edu
412-692-4818

Cynthia Lance-Jones, PhD
Assistant Dean for Medical Education
Assistant Dean for Medical Student Research
clancej@pitt.edu
412-648-8859

James B. McGee, MD
Assistant Dean for Medical Education Technology
jbm1@pitt.edu
412-648-9679

Satdarshan (Paul) S. Monga, MD
Assistant Dean for the Medical Scientist Training Program
smonga@pitt.edu
412-648-8842

Kanchan H. Rao, MD
Assistant Dean for Admissions
krao@medschool.pitt.edu
412-648-9891

Ali F. Sonel, MD
Assistant Dean for Veterans Affairs
ali.sonel@va.gov
412-360-6102

Reed Van Deusen, MD, MS
Assistant Dean for Human-Based Simulation Education
vandeusenr@upmc.edu
412-383-5382